Pain Perdu – French Toast

This morning, I made du Pain Perdu, which I believe English speaking people call French Toast. Here’s why in France we call is lost bread. It’s not -as I believed as a kid- that it was bread you had lost/misplaced and when found you decided to cook it (a kind if hide and seek Baker’s edition if you will) but it’s baguette that had gone stale, therefore ‘lost’ as well, who wants to eat stale bread?.

As I sadly don’t often get une baguette (and again, when I do, it doesn’t have the time to go stale!) I’m using regular bread that is a couple if days old (but hasn’t gone stake because that kind of bread goes mouldy at 00.01am on the Best Before Date day).

It is my opinion that it is best with baguette, but it still taste good with some good old Kingsmill or Warburton type of bread.

The recipe is fool proof, you need eggs, a bit of caster sugar, milk, vanilla extract and/or ground cinnamon and then oil or butter to grease the skillet.

I have never ever used a recipe or measured what I use, so here’s a rough idea: 3 eggs, 2 tbsp of sugar, 1 tsp vanilla extract, 1/2 teaspoon of ground cinnamon and about 1 cup of milk. Mix it all together. Put a skillet on the hob, medium heat, put a bit of oil or butter, if using butter make sure you don’t burn it, then dunk your sliced bread into the mix, then depending on how big your skillet is, put one or two sliced at the time, leave it on one side for a couple of minutes, then turn it around, again for a couple of minutes and voila, repeat the process till you either run out of bread or mix and voila, it’s done!

20140222-114438.jpg

It’s part of life’s simple pleasure. If you feel fancy, you can do that with brioche too!

Leave a comment